The stalwarts of the Royal British Legion Scotland community are among the 1,134 people to have received the Jubilee award. 

Retired Lieutenant Commander Martyn Hawthorn, the national chairman for Legion Scotland, was among the trio of honourees. He received an MBE for voluntary and charitable services. 

Martyn’s involvement in Legion Scotland began some 28 years ago, and he served as Moffat branch secretary for 18 years. Since then, he has moved up the ranks of the organisation, with a record that includes national executive committee representative for Dumfries and Galloway, area secretary, and national vice chairman. His tenure as national chairman comes to an end later this month. 

Also recognised was Billy Dingwall, who first joined Royal British Legion Scotland in 1954 after serving as a submariner in the Korean War. A member of Inverness branch, Billy has spent time as a local committee member, branch standard bearer, and branch vice president. His enthusiasm and vigour have contributed hugely to Legion Scotland’s continued presence in Inverness, and he has been a Life Member since 1995. Billy has made an annual commitment to lay poppy crosses at the 175 Commonwealth War Graves in Inverness’s two main cemeteries. 

Annie Ogilvy was recognised for her contributions to Legion Scotland, too. She joined the Royal British Legion Scotland’s Women’s Section in Arbroath in 1976 and has been an active supporter ever since. She joined the main Arbroath branch in 1986 and has spent 44 years contributing to Legion Scotland’s presence there. Her career includes six years as vice chairman and chairman of the Women’s Section Central Council and, since 2003, the chairman of the Women’s Section Arbroath branch.